If you want to change the software settings, such as changing the encryption algorithm,
you use the options dialog box.
- Login if you are not currently logged
- Locate the golden lock icon
on the taskbar
- Right click your mouse button on the lock
- Select Change Options from the popup menu
- Change options and then click OK to accept your changes; or click Cancel
to discard your changes.
This tab shows you
- The full path of the profile you are using
- The registration code (RegCode), and
- Auto Logout settings
They are pretty straightforward and need no further explanation.
A Note About Auto Logout: After the specified number of minutes of inactivity
iSafeguard™ will log you out automatically. However if there are active iSafeguard™
message boxes, dialog, progress window, etc. iSafeguard™ will not logout automatically
until you close all of them, to avoid data loss.
This tab allows you to change the default encryption and signature algorithms.
The encryption algorithm is the algorithm that is used to encrypt a message or file
when you choose "Encrypt" or "Sign & Encrypt". The signature algorithm is the
algorithm that is used to generate a signature of a message or file when you choose
"Sign" or "Sign & Encrypt".
The software support three encryption algorithms and two signature algorithms listed
in the following tables.
Key Length (Bits)
SHA1 hash algorithm plus RSA
MD5 hash algorithm plus RSA
Hotkeys are used for signing and encrypting emails, filling forms, etc.
- To disable a hotkey un-check the related check box.
- To enable a hotkey check the related check box.
- To change a default hotkey enter your customized character in the related edit field.
The character must be from A to Z.
Your changes will take effects immediately after you click the OK button.
Files & Folders
This tab gives you control over what to do after signing and encrypting files, decrypting
and verifying encoded files. The available file wiping options are also shown in
the tab. You can include folders and sub-folders for the selection action. You can
also choose to wipe the original files when the action is completed for each file.
Warning before wiping check box: if checked the program will ask you for
confirmation before wiping files. It is a good idea to keep it checked because when
a file is wiped you cannot get it back.
Include subdirectories check box: if checked the files in the subdirectories
are also wiped recursively.
Number of passes: is the number of times a file is overwritten when wiping.
Normally 3 are enough for most people. With extremely sensitive data, you may increase
The Certificate tab has three check boxes:
- Allow using certificates on my computer: When checked the certificates on
your computer will be available to sign and encrypt data.
- Trust root CA certificate on my computer: When checked all root CA certificates
in the ROOT store on your computer will be trusted automatically.
- Enable searching CA certificates from the Internet: When checked the software
will try to find CA certificates from known Internet Directory Services if it cannot
find them in your profile and your computer.
From this tab you can
- Setup automatic CRL update interval
- Enable CRL checking, and
- Enable CRL update at the time a CRL is used
Again this tab is pretty much self-explanatory.
This tab allows you to choose how much information you want iSafeguard™ to
save to the log file. The log file name is 'iSafeguard.log' and is located under
"My Documents". Once again this tab is self-explanatory.